30TH Annual GSTRC Is A Huge Success
San Antonio, TX (March 10, 2012) -- The finals for the 30th Annual George Strait Team Roping Classic were held today at the Rose Palace in San Antonio. Thirty-two year olds Patrick Smith (Heeler) from Lipan, TX and Clay Tryan (Header) from Billings, Montana are the new Grand Champions. Clay Tryan follows in his big brother’s footsteps who had won the Championship in 2008.

“I just won the biggest team roping there is!” said Clay Tryan, who had his wife and children on hand for awards photos. “It is unbelievable.”

“The way the competition is here today, I am so very grateful for the win,” said Smith, who also had his young family in tow, “May God be the Glory!”

With today’s winnings, they ride away with custom painted GSTRC Championship Chevy Silverado Duallies from Cavendar Chevrolet (Boerne, TX), Strait X-treme horse trailers from Bruton Trailers, Twister saddles from Tractor Supply, Resitol roping bags, jackets from Wrangler and Justin and half of the $203,800 cash payoff.

During Friday preliminaries, 545 teams were broken down into groups of 50 and the Top 5 fastest times from each round qualified for Saturday’s finals. Those fifty teams returned to compete in today’s finals for cash and prizes totaling well over $700,000.


1st 16.67 Clay Tryan/Patrick Smith $203,800
2nd 18.79 Casey Hicks/Jake Pianalto $ 81,520
3rd 20.74 Casey Mahoney/Joe Espy $ 56,046
4th 20.81 Kaston Peavy/T Luttrell $ 50,950
5th 20.99 Cooper Wimberly/Bode Baize $ 40,760
6th 21.37 Derrick Begay/Cory Petska $ 30,570
7th 22.55 Garrett Tonozzi/Dugan Kelly $ 25,474
8th 23.62 Cody McMinn/JC Williams $ 20,380


1st Go 4.87 Matt Sherwood/Cory Petska $ 1500
4.87 Clay Tryan/Jade Corkil $ 1500
2nd Go 4.31 Luke Brown/Martin Lucero $ 3000
3rd Go 3.83 Colby Siddoway/Caleb Twisselman $ 3000


1st Go 4.87 Matt Sherwood/Cory Petska $ 10,000

Fastest Time Overall On Friday

1st 4.04 Tyler Waters/Wesley Moss Buckles

Fastest Time On 2 Friday

1st 9.12 Brandon Beers/Ryan Motes Buckles