SAN ANTONIO, Texas (Saturday, March12, 2016) -- The George Strait Team Roping Classic (GSTRC) is the largest open Team Roping event in America and, now in its 34th year,the two-day event has awarded nearly $5 million in prize money to date. This year’s event was no exception drawing 583 teams of the greatest Team Ropers alive with $636,500 awarded in cash prizes with $50,000 solely doled out for Friday's rotations. After over 18 hours of competition, Dustin Egusquiza from Florida and Kyle Lawrence from Alabama roped 3-head in 13.99 seconds and were crowned winners. Each won $115,000 in prize money (full breakdown of rankings below). In addition, the pair also each won 2016 Chevrolet Silverado Dually pickups from Cavender Chevrolet in Boerne, Texas and Bruton Strait XtremeTrailers. 

Friday’s festivities drew 1,166 ropers from all over the country, but eventually dwindled competitors down to the Top 50 teams leading into Saturday’s competition.

Saturday began with the Top 50 team finalists on horseback inside the arena alongside their host, George Strait who addressed the arena attendees and participants and welcomed them back to the San Antonio Rose Palace.

Following the 3rd Go, the scores were tallied and Egusquiza and Lawrence were determined champions. Strait was on hand for the event, and congratulated the winners and presented their awards.

George Strait Team Roping Classic Final Results 

1st       13.99   Dustin Egusquiza and Kyle Lawrence

2nd       14.11   Clay Tryan and Jade Corkill

3rd       14.23   AndrewWard and Cody Doescher

4th       16.36   GuyHowell and Jhett Johnson

5th       16.57   Landon McClaugherty and Joel Huerta

6th       17.51   Logan Olson and Walt Woodard

7th       17.76   Bubba Buckaloo and Gage Williams

8th       21.56   Blake Hughes and Brady Norman